DET Information

The school council has particular functions in setting and monitoring the school’s direction.

School councils have three main responsibilities:

  • finance: overseeing the development of the school’s annual budget and ensuring proper records are kept of the school’s financial operation
  • strategic planning: participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan
  • policy development and review: developing, reviewing and updating policies that reflect a school’s values and support the school’s broad direction outlined in its strategic plan.

Other key functions of school councils include:

  • raising funds for school related purposes
  • maintaining school grounds and facilities
  • entering into contracts
  • reporting annually to the school community and the Department
  • creating interest in the school in the wider community
  • representing and taking the views of the community into account
  • regulating and facilitating after-hours use of school premises and grounds
  • operating a children’s service at the school.

College Council 2020 Members

President: Tania Madjaric Grierson
Executive Officer: Richard Minack

Parent Members

Sean Doherty
Paul French
Asaf Harel
Lee Anne Harris
Alec Tarshis
Brigid Doyle
Joss Honours

PFA Representative

Marcus Barber

Staff Members

Lee Angelidis
Kaye Sentry
Leisa Higgins
Pat Gargano

Student Members

Amy Miller
Quoc Duy (John) Nguyen
Gabi Nicholl (SRC representative)